Board and Committees

Board of Directors

Officers - Current Year

Seawa Board Member:  Ryan Davison - Chairman

Ryan Davison is resource engineering technologist who worked with Agriculture Canada – PFRA for 32 years where he was involved in various watershed projects with SEAWA and MRWCC. Since 2015, he has done freelance consulting relating to groundwater mapping, surface water inventory and water quality issues in South Alberta. A “prairie boy” at heart, he understands that building local capacity around water is essential to a healthy, sustainable resource.

Ryan Davison

Seawa Board Member:  Alf Belyea - Vice-Chair

Councilor, Cypress County

Alf Belyea

Seawa Board Member:  Karen Saffran - Treasurer

Karen Saffran’s early years spent mucking about in sloughs east of Edmonton led to a B.Sc. in Zoology from the University of Alberta and a M.Sc. in Aquatic Ecology from the University of Waterloo. Before moving to Medicine Hat in 2003, she worked for the Government of Alberta as a Limnologist/Surface Water Quality Specialist. Karen has volunteered with SEAWA’s Steering and Technical Committees, working on the Integrated Watershed Management Plan. She also sits on the Board of Directors of the Praxis Science Outreach Society and is involved in 4-H and various activities in her three childrens’ schools.

Karen Saffran

Seawa Board Member:  Tina Regehr - Secretary

Tina Regehr

Seawa Board Member:  Garry Lentz - Past Chair

Garry is an Agriculture member on the SEAWA Board. He also serves as the Agriculture Advisor on the SEAWA Integrated Watershed Management Plan, Technical Advisory Committee. A journeyman motor mechanic, welder and millwright, Garry has owned and operated several businesses including the family farm that he has lived on for most of his life. He was a member of Cypress County’s Agriculture Service Board for 18 years and an Elected Councilor from 2001 – 2017. Garry is the Chairman of the Board of Directors for the 11-22 Co-op Seed Plant Ltd. and the Cypress Rural Water Co-op Ltd.

Garry Lentz

Past Chair

Directors - Current Year

Seawa Board Member:  Ron Linowski - Outdoor Recreation & Tourism

Ron Linowski

Outdoor Recreation & Tourism
Seawa Board Member:  Mike Zmurchyk - Irrigators

Mike is employed with St. Mary River Irrigation District as the Assistant Manager of Operations East, operating out of the Bow Island office.

Mike Zmurchyk

Seawa Board Member:  Greg Paxman - Urban Municipal Government

Greg grew up on a farm in Southeastern Saskatchewan and moved to Medicine Hat in 2003 to begin working for the City of Medicine Hat at the water treatment plant. Greg has over 20 years of experience treating drinking water and is currently employed as the Water Treatment Plant Superintendent for the City of Medicine Hat.

Greg Paxman

Urban Municipal Government
Seawa Board Member:  Brent Smith - Academic Institutions

Brent Smith completed a BSc in Biology from the University of Regina, and a MSc in Physical Geography from the University of Calgary. He currently teaches environmental science at Medicine Hat College. Prior to teaching, he was the lead range biologist at CFB Suffield, where he assessed the sustainability of military training, oil and gas development, and cattle grazing. His academic interests include ecological restoration, sustainable agriculture, and agroecology.

Brent Smith

Academic Institutions
Seawa Board Member:  Amber Zary - Provincial Government

Works in Parks and Recreation for the City of Medicine Hat

Amber Zary

Provincial Government
Seawa Board Member:  Jean Bériault - Industry

Jean Bériault

Seawa Board Member:  Stuart Murray - Agriculture

Stuart Murray

Seawa Board Member:  Laurie Oulette - Indigenous Groups

Laurie Oulette

Indigenous Groups
Seawa Board Member:  Allison Campbell - Declared Open & Available Seat

Instructor at Medicine Hat College

Allison Campbell

Declared Open & Available Seat
Seawa Board Member:  Selene David - Declared Open & Available Seat

Selene David

Declared Open & Available Seat

Any SEAWA member may run for a seat on the board of directors.

Board membership categories are as follows:

  • Land Resource Industry (Agriculture, Industry)
  • Licensee Members (Irrigators, Non-Irrigators)
  • Municipal Government Members (Rural, Urban)
  • Outdoor Recreation and Eco-Tourism
  • Environmental Non-Government Organization
  • Provincial Government (AEP, AAF)
  • Federal Government
  • Members-at-Large
  • Indigenous / Aboriginal Groups
  • Academic Institutions


Executive Committee

  • Ryan Davison (Chair)
  • Alf Belyea (Vice-Chair)
  • Karen Saffran (Treasurer)
  • Tina Regehr (Secretary)
  • Garry Lentz (Past Chair)

Technical Committee

Chair: Karen Saffran

Communications Committee

Chair: Martha Munz-Gue

Policy Committee

Chair: Audrey Goodwin

Previous Years' Board Members

The SEAWA Board and staff wish to recognize previous board members for their contributions and hard work, and wish them well on their future endeavors.

Board of Directors

2019 – 2020

  • Garry Lentz (Chair)
  • Mike Zmurchyk
  • Alf Belyea
  • Diane Harty
  • Greg Paxman
  • Greg Heebner
  • Tina Regehr (Secretary)
  • Janelle Villeneuve
  • Audrey Goodwin
  • Karen Saffran (Treasurer)
  • Olivia Sederberg
  • Brent Smith
  • Ryan Davison (Vice-Chair)
  • Stuart Murray (Past Chair)       

Board of Directors

2018 – 2019

  • Garry Lentz (Chair)
  • Sandy Vanderburgh (Vice-Chair)
  • Olivia Sederbeg (Treasurer)
  • Ron Linowski (Secretary)
  • Stuart Murray (Past Chair)
  • Alf Belyea
  • Audrey Goodwin
  • Diane Harty
  • Gary Franz
  • Greg Heebner
  • Janelle Villeneuve
  • John Michalopoulous
  • Karen Saffran
  • Ryan Davison

Board of Directors

2017 – 2018

  • Garry Lentz (Chair)
  • Sandy Vanderburgh (Vice-Chair)
  • Gary Franz
  • John Michalopoulos
  • Ron Linowski (Secretary)
  • Vanessa Linowski
  • Stuart Murray (Past Chair)
  • Janelle Villeneuve
  • Jim Babe
  • Audrey Goodwin
  • Karen Saffran
  • Olivia Sederberg
  • Daygan Fowler
  • Allison Campbell (Treasurer)
  • Rolan Kappel
  • Ron McMullin
  • Russell Krasnuik

Thank you to all who have been involved in SEAWA's board and committees over the years!